Reviews

What people are saying about Melrose Guest House




Excellent choice in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique are perfect friendly and helpful hosts. Location is perfect:central but not on a busy road. Room was beautifully decorated and very clean and modern. Breakfast was superb every morning;cooked as well as buffet on offer. We had a great stay and can recommend Melrose Guest House thoroughly.

Reviewer:Felicia Oyo Homes Ltd F | Sun 7th Jul 2019 | 1 week ago


Fantastic Guesthouse- Rating 5/5

What a gem of a guesthouse in the heart of Ambleside. Jim &Monique provide an awesome service where guests are treated like friends and family.The guesthouse is immaculately clean and tidy with excellent facilities. The rooms are well decorated and have a smart HD TV for those wishing to catch up on their viewing. Many of the rooms provide views of nearby hills/mountains. The bathroom Is well appointed with a power shower which really is a power shower and is great after a days walking.The breakfast is awesome a fantastic buffet complimented by a cooked breakfast or lighter options.The Melrose will be at the top of our list the next time we return to the Lakes.

Reviewer:Colin R | Fri 5th Jul 2019 | 1 week ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Lovely accomadation, great hosts,great location, thank you

Reviewer:paul s | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 1 week ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely staff and immaculately clean rooms. Delicious breakfast. No trouble with parking even though a 5 minute walk is involved. Overall, highest recommendation.

Reviewer:Mark O | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 1 week ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent little place to stay in Ambleside. Very comfortable B&B and hosts couldn't be more welcoming. I'd love to come again.

Reviewer:Konstantin P | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Melrose Guest House - Rating 5/5

We had a spotless, modern and tasteful decorated room. The breakfast was well presented and tasty, Jim and Monique are a lovely couple and made us feel at home the minute we arrived, we'll definitely stay here again. Thankyou both.

Reviewer:Michelle L | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Three night break - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay very clean and comfortable really friendly welcome and a lovely breakfast Well-placed just a stroll away for some good restaurants and some lovely walks what I find thank you

Reviewer:victoria l | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay at the Melrose, Jim and Monique were brilliant and the guesthouse is beautifully presented, spotless with excellent rooms plus a good shower.The breakfast was exceptional, one of the best we have had a where, strongly recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon.We will return, Larry and Heather.

Reviewer:Larry P | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Melrose Guesthouse stay in June 2019 - Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed at Melrose Guesthouse for three nights and were very satisfied with the accommodations- the beds were comfortable, good shower, breakfast and central location for exploring The Lake District!Monique and Jim were excellent hosts. I would definitely book a stay there again in future.

Reviewer:Cheryl B | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 2 weeks ago


5 Star Hotel, Great Location - Rating 5/5

A big thank you to Jim and Monique who were informative and helpful.We were meet and shown to our rooms which were extremely clean and tastefully decorated.The breakfast is outstanding and nothing is to much trouble.A really excellent stay and would definitely come back.

Reviewer:Chetin M | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Loved it - Rating 5/5

I loved everything about this guest house, the owners were so nice, the decoration was really sleek, the room was perfect and breakfast in the morning too! I'll definitely come back, and next time, I'll book directly through them!

Reviewer:Francesca P | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely Melrose Place and People - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice stay in Melrose :greatroom, nice people, good food, lots of friendlyness and laughs :-)When we go back to the Lake Disttrict, we’llgo back to Melrose hosted by Jim and Monique !Thanks again !

Reviewer:Dirk E | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Faultless stay - Rating 5/5

Extremely pleasant single room 3, very clean, sink in the room , lots of extras to make enjoyable stay , private bathroom spotless, robe provided, lovely cooked breakfast, great selection of cereals and fruits, would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Lesley H | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Melrose Guesthouse- Rating 5/5

We’ve just arrived home after spending a few nights at Melrose. And I have to say it is one of the nicest b&bs I've stayed in. Jim and Monique are extremely accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The house it’s self is immaculate. Including bedding shower toilet etc. The breakfast every morning was yummy. But don’t worry you’ll walk it off later in the day. It’s in a great location to. Just a two minute walk to bars restaurants shops.The only negative thing I can say is my boyfriend didn’t sleep very well. This was only due to the fact we had a top floor room which may I add had lovely views but the heat from the rest of the house had risen up and I think made ours quite hot at night even with the window open. Butwould definitely stay here again. Thanks for a fab stay xx

Reviewer:Lindsay S | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I felt welcomed by hosts Jim and Monique. The location is ideal for a restful stay in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Pamela R | Wed 19th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Centrally located Guesthouse in Ambleside - Rating 4/5

The basement room that our family of 3 adults had at Melrose was clean, comfortable and had an en-suite bathroom attached that was well equipped. The selection of breakfast, fruits and cereals provided was delicious and filling. Jim &Monique are wonderful hosts who made our stay at their guesthouse warm and welcomed. Would highly recommend their place if anyone wishes to visit and stay at Ambleside.

Reviewer:Pang Boon C | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Great location for Ambleside visit - Rating 5/5

This was a great place to stay in Ambleside. Very clean, nicely decorated, wi fi, tv, shower etc all worked well. Breakfasts were very good, with good quality jams (my favourite strawberry and black pepper) and good quality ingredients for the cooked breakfast. I also liked the fresh fruit salad on the breakfast bar. Jim and Monique were friendly and helpful and provided me with a nice pack up to take on a days walking.Finally the location was great;very close to the centre of Ambleside.

Reviewer:martin w | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Great stay with great hosts - Rating 5/5

Although we stayed only for 1 night, Jim made us feel at home straight away. Great compliment for the breakfast.

Reviewer:Ruud K | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Our stay was amazing. The rooms were clean, spacious and fitted with everything we needed. The breakfast too was lovely. It was a home away from home. Thanks Merose.

Reviewer:Gilmara Blagojevic & Doreen A | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Perfect stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house in central location. Spotless and tastefully decorated. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Linda H | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Wonderful, welcoming & comfortable B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay, Jim &Monique were very welcoming and both rooms were immaculately presented. We made use of the spa passes which was a real treat. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the location couldn't be better. Thank you for making our break so special.

Reviewer:Elizabeth K | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Suberp B&B in perfect location - a must visit - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have stayed in a few guesthouses/B&B's but I can safely say that Melrose is without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in.We were greeted by Jim who is fantastic - nothing is too much trouble and he even took our wet swimming stuff (we'd just done the Great North Swim) to hang in the drying room.The whole place is utterly spotless but with lovely homely touches.Our room was charming and the bed was extremely comfortable.We enjoyed the most delicious breakfast on our first morning and then Jim showed us a lovely 10mile walk to Grasmere and supplied us with maps and books - again just so helpful and we all raved about how stunning the walk was.All in all the most wonderful place to stay and extremely good value for money.We are definitley swimming the Lakes again next year and we will definitely return to hte Melrose for another visit - 10 out of 10.Thank you so much for having us.

Reviewer:Laura G | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


a place to return to - Rating 5/5

Possibly one of the best guest houses that we have stayed at. Situated in an excellent position in the centre of Ambleside, superb accommodation and decor, an amazing choice at breakfast time. An added bonus is the safe gated provision of parking.Will certainly add this b&b to our list of places to return to.

Reviewer:Ashley B | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

What a lovely warm, welcoming and attractive guest house. We enjoyed a very comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Joanne H | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a weekend stay with friendsat The Melrose. It was brilliant from start to finish. We got a lovely warm welcome from the owners and shown to our beautiful rooms (1 &2 ) Everything is of the highest standard and nothing is too much trouble. The free parking isa bonus and we will definitely return. Many thanks to Jim and Monique for a fantastic weekend.

Reviewer:Mrs J C | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at Melrose guest house 31-05-2018 our room was a great size with a modern flat screen tv which was great.Breakfast is pre booked which we like it’s fresh at the time you want it. It was a perfect stay.

Reviewer:Trevor K | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Melrose Review - Rating 5/5

Hi Jim and Monique, your guesthouse is fabulously located. It was spotless and generously stocked with all extras. The breakfast was delicious and you were both chatty and very approachable. Well done x

Reviewer:Julie W | Sat 1st Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Melrose guest house- Rating 5/5

Jim and monique are excellent hosts very welcoming and attentive. It was our 5th time we have stayed there and will be back next year. Breakfast is of a very high quality and doesnt dissapoint thank you both.

Reviewer:Margaret W | Fri 31st May 2019 | 1 month ago


Melrose - Rating 5/5

We could not fault it.Excellent

Reviewer:Elizabeth S | Thu 30th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Nice friendly place to stay, room was comfotable and breakfast was more than enough.Will stay again

Reviewer:Mark D | Thu 30th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Melrose Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Excellent hosts. Service food and position of hotel first rate

Reviewer:Mary S | Wed 29th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place to stay- Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed staying here. Facilities and breakfast were excellent. Great location close to shops and hikes.

Reviewer:Heather B | Tue 28th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

I spent two nights at the Melrose a guest House. I was made to feel very welcome from the moment I arrived. Monique was there waiting for me even though I arrived late. The room was extremely comfortable and of an extremely good standard.I met Jim at breakfast and, again, made to feel really welcome. The breakfast was of a fantastic standard and plenty of choices available.Overall a guest house of the highest standard made even better by the hospitality of the hosts, Monique and Jim.

Reviewer:Tony M | Sat 25th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Beautiful Guest House - Rating 5/5

I booked for 2 nights in the melrose guest house staying with a friend.We arrived early and was greeted by our warm hosts who let us check in early.The hosts were extremely helpful and welcoming.The breakfast was beautiful with a great selection to choose from.Our room was beautiful and very clean and comfortable.We will definitely be back, we had a really nice stay with you and would highly recommend this place to others.Great value for money too :-)

Reviewer:Nicola M | Fri 24th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed at The Melrose. It is absolutely fantastic and the refurbishment is fabulous. The rooms are a good size. Lovely comfy beds, nice soft towels, gorgeous crisp bedding and lovely toiletries. The breakfast is plentiful and the lovely bowl of fresh fruit was a must for us. Cereal choice good, yoghurt and a great select of toast toppers. The actual breakfast is excellent and having to fill a card in each night is a good idea especially as it can be rubbed out and reused.Thank you Monique and Jim for our wonderful stay and look forward to seeing you next year. A Highly Reccomended bed and breakfast

Reviewer:Bob S | Fri 24th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Friendly and comfortable stay. - Rating 5/5

Brought friends from Australia to experience the lakes. We were all impressed by the immaculate presentation of the accomodation, the excellent freshly cooked breakfasts and the very friendly welcome. Great central location too !

Reviewer:Roger D | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 month ago


Highly recommended!! 😁 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a friend in the twin room, right from the start there was a friendly atmosphere, stunning room, very clean, lovely breakfasts, lots of options, the owners couldn't have been more helpful, even photocopied a walk for us to follow and take with, very easy going, on Street parking outside but they gave us a pass for a free carpark while we stayed. Filled our flask full with a nice strong brew for our walk 😁👍 I'd highly recommend to everyone and I'll definitly be staying again! Good prices too!

Reviewer:Aimie E | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 month ago


Melrose Guest House- Rating 5/5

Lovely room with a comfortable bed, very good decoration and ensuite with quality shower. All spotless. The breakfast was marvellous with several choices. The owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

Reviewer:Theresa N | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 month ago


Best Guesthouse by far!- Rating 5/5

Having stayed in the Lake District many times over many years thus is the best Guesthouse we have stayed in. Everything in the room was of a high standard, everything was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was first class and gluten free diet was not a problem. We wouldn't hesitate to book again! Thank you.

Reviewer:Helen C | Sat 18th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely 3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely 3 night stay here, perfect location in Ambleside. Immaculate guest house, delicious choice of breakfast, which you pick the night before. The car park is only a few minutes away which is easy to find and secure. We had a really enjoyable experience here, and will definitely be staying again!

Reviewer:Ashley B | Fri 17th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Melrose Guest House - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and welcoming, food was excellent, very clean accommodation, a stay here is definitely recommended, home from home.

Reviewer:John D | Sat 11th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Single room with apart bathroom - Rating 4/5

Overall very good (inclusief breakfast),but I missed a chair and a towel in my room. These problems were solved.

Reviewer:M C | Sat 11th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

One of the best guest houses I’ve stayed in. Friendly welcome and comfortable room. Huge breakfast and great value.

Reviewer:Andy B | Fri 10th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Weekend in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Second time at Melrose and there will be a third.Clean and comfortable with an amazing breakfast choice.

Reviewer:Julie M | Thu 9th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Everything Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Super King Room which was absolutely faultless and even on the front of the building there was no noise at all. The breakfast was one of the best i have had anywhere. Jim and Monique gave great advice on the local area, and were very accommodating. Will definitely book again.

Reviewer:Chris H | Thu 9th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Yet another fabulous stay- Rating 5/5

Jim &Monique yet again you made us feel very welcome, this time with the kids (16 &12).As ever your guest house is beautiful I love the updating you’ve good lovely standards, extremely clean and offers everything you could need.The weather was good to us again so no wet clothes but the afternoon in the spa was an excellent treat for the kids after a walk 😂. The free secure parking this time was a real plus. Can’t wait to see you again soon, each time we come it gets better and better.

Reviewer:Mrs Tracy T | Mon 6th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay at Melrose Guest house. Perfect location, right in the centre of Ambleside. The breakfast was amazing! Can’t fault it. Lovely room, would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Jessica M | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely guesthouse - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at Melrose Guesthouse, and would totally recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet but central guesthouse in Ambleside.The breakfast was always excellent, with plenty of choice, and our room was comfortable and spacious enough.Monique and Jim were thoughtful, helpful hosts.Thank you both!

Reviewer:Jenny G | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Great stay in Ambleside - Rating 4/5

Our two night stay was just what the Doctor ordered- Melrose was in an ideal location with superb choice of breakfast in the morning. We will be back. Thank you- Diolch :)

Reviewer:Mererid E | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Walking! - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, great hosts, location perfect everything on the doorstep, can do many walks from front door!

Reviewer:John O | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful owners. Great rooms and location.

Reviewer:Tone M | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely B&B in perfect location- Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms and great location. We will be back.

Reviewer:Monica T | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


My walking trip in the lakes - Rating 5/5

Great stay, great service from Jim and Monique. Lovely accommodation ... with great breakfast. ....highly recommended.

Reviewer:mary o | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Perfect Guesthouse- Rating 5/5

We stayed for 5 nights at Melrose and it was a perfect experience. Arrival was worry free even during the busy afternoon with traffic etc. Our car was parked in a nearby secure locked compound just a short walk away. Jim and Monique have worked hard to think of everything and every detail is considered. The breakfast service was easily the best we’ve ever had. Perfectly cooked, unhurried and relaxing. The room we had was immaculate and tidied every day. We would stay at Melrose again in a heartbeat and will recommend to all our friends. All in all a perfect stay.

Reviewer:Neil W | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Easter break - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay , nice breakfast, clean room. Maybe needs a chair in the room we stayed in ,but otherwise would recommend a visit.

Reviewer:Allan R | Sat 20th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Briliant Guest House - Rating 5/5

Brilliant Guest House. Nice facilities &tasty breakfast.

Reviewer:Paul S | Thu 18th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Very well looked after - Rating 5/5

I can’t recommend this B&B enough.Not only was it the most presentable cooked breakfast I’ve ever had but their attention to detail was faultless.Within the room itself the beds were very comfy and the generous complimentary toiletries were a nice touch.As an added bonus, the addition of Netflix made our bedtime TV viewing much more enjoyable.Ultimately, Jim and Monique are a lovely couple who really do take care of their guests.

Reviewer:Emma T | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

This is one of the best if not the best b/b I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The rooms are spotless for cleanliness and Monique makes the best scrambled eggs ever. Monique and Jim create a relax atmosphere which makes me want to stay time and time again.

Reviewer:Suzanne G | Fri 12th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


my stay at melrose guest house - Rating 5/5

I stayed for one night at meroseit is a lovely and well kept guest housethe hosts are wonderfullbreakfast was realy good ,I can highley recomend melrose

Reviewer:David W | Wed 10th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Very Friendly and Helpful - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay here - Monique and Jim were very friendly and always around to help. The room was lovely and the breakfast excellent. The guest passes to the local spa were particularly good after a long days' walk. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Edward W | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent Ambleside B&B - Rating 5/5

Probably the best B &B we have ever stayed in, the house was decorated superbly, we have actually bought the same two 'climbing men' wall decoration ourselves !

Reviewer:Philip T | Sun 7th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Tony Greene - Rating 5/5

Absolutely delighted with our recent stay here in Ambleside. The owners are lovely folk who went out of their way to make us welcome.Ticks every box for us including the fine breakfasts! They have even coupled a torch to their private parking key in case you park in the dark. Wow and thanks.

Reviewer:Anthony G | Tue 2nd Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Super central location. Excellent accommodation, very welcoming proprietors and cracking breakfast. Kindly organised parking which is very helpful in this busy town. Whilst located centrally, we enjoyed a a quiet night’s stay.

Reviewer:John C | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our time with Monique and Jim who were pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfasts and top quality accommodation. Room fitted with top quality furnishings and toiletries. They also managed to provide us with good weather

Reviewer:Graham C | Sat 30th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed for Valentines weekend and what a lovely stay! Everything was clean and we have the blue room which was big, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was also great and the hotel is in perfect proximity to walks, shops and pubs! We will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Sarah P | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Thank-you - Rating 4/5

Our room was very comfortable, with good facilities and a lovely selection to choose from at breakfast, all cooked fresh. It set us up for the day ahead.

Reviewer:Denise P | Sat 23rd Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Absolutely outstanding, accomodation was beautiful and jim and monique were so friendly and helpful, will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Susan T | Mon 18th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Melrose guest house Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Excelent,would give Melrose guest house 10/10Absolutely spotless,food at breakfast could not be faulted,Monique and Jim could not do enough for you and really make you welcomeThere are lots of nice little touches that you don't really expect which also make this place like home from home (only better)

Reviewer:Roy K | Mon 18th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Melrose is the perfect B&B - clean and quaint with the friendliest hosts and in the ideal location. Jim &Monique were so accommodating, and even arranged an early breakfast just for me on my day of departure. Not to mention that the breakfast was always delicious. They even have vegetarian sausage for a full English breakfast alternative, which is greatly appreciated. I hope I can stay again!

Reviewer:Allison W | Sun 17th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Melrose Guest House is nothing short of excellent.A warm welcome, a spacious and comfortable room, everything immaculately clean and a lovely well cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. We will definitely return next time we visit Ambleside.

Reviewer:Robin W | Tue 12th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend break. - Rating 5/5

Beautiful and spotless hotel.breakfast was very nice and the hosts were very friendly.will certainly be returning in the near future.

Reviewer:Shaun O | Sun 10th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovey place- Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, very welcoming central to Ambleside,

Reviewer:Suzanne P | Sun 10th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Birthday break - Rating 5/5

This guest house is a REAL special place. Its our 4th stay at this place, 2nd while Monique &Jim have owned it. They have made some very impressive changes, immaculate clean, tummy filling locally sourced breakfast, friendly warm relaxed atmosphere. I so would like to put people off this place, knowing that we stand z better chance of booking up again, however, i cannot think of anything negative.Don't think twice, just book your stay here, guaranteed you will return.P.s.Make use of the free passess for the spa.

Reviewer:Ian C | Fri 15th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Excellent guest house clean friendly and warm.Great hosts .

Reviewer:gary n | Mon 7th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


New years Eve Weekend - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fabulous, spotlessly clean, wonderful friendly service an absolute must to visit and will be visiting again.The breakfast was superb!!Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!!

Reviewer:Andrea J | Thu 3rd Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Great New Year stay at Melrose Guest House - Rating 4/5

A lovely 3 day stay at Melrose house comfortable room nice modern bathroom and a good selection at breakfast rate quite high but was good value do prefer parking but permit for a car park was ok. Owners good hosts very pleasant all ran very smoothky would stay again .

Reviewer:Jean H | Thu 3rd Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Christmas Break - Rating 5/5

Weve just returned from a lovely break in Ambleside and had a lovely time at the Melrose. It is very central, close to all bars and restaurants,secure parking. Plenty walks from the doorstep. We had the king size room, ample space, very clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely, very fresh, lots of choice and made for you at your choice of time. The owners are very nice and friendly and take time out of their busy day to make you feel very welcome. Overall an amazing little gem.

Reviewer:Gail W | Mon 31st Dec 2018 | 6 months ago


Beauty of Melrose at Christmas- Rating 5/5

No better place to unwind post Christmas or for that matter any other time of the year. Jim and Monique have created a truly delightful bed and breakfast. Our room was warm and immaculately presented upon arrival and each morning following breakfast. Breakfast was amazing with all dietary needs catered for. The owners attention to detail is to be admired. Strongly recommend a stay when next in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Peter E | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 6 months ago


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Welcome vey warm as usual. Lovely cosy room, very comfortable.Jim &Monique made us feel totally relaxedExcellent breakfast with manyoptions.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Derek &PauineThank you.

Reviewer:Derek P | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


spot on - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome and a very clean guest house. Food was delicious.Would stay here again.

Reviewer:mrs jayne d | Mon 3rd Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Rainy weekend away - Rating 5/5

What can I say, fantastic!

Reviewer:George E | Mon 3rd Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Melrose guest house - Rating 5/5

Spent an excellent 3 nights at the Melrose. The guest house is very clean and the rooms are excellent. There are no complaints regarding breakfast, there is a broad choice for every taste. The guest house is situated in the centre of Ambleside and is a great base for exploring the lakes and returning later for good food &drinks in the local establishment’s, there is parking for a limited amount of cars at a nominal fee, they have a drying room for kit and I believe bike storage, we will definitely be visiting again 👍

Reviewer:Terry D | Wed 21st Nov 2018 | 7 months ago


Briliant Guest House - Rating 5/5

The Melrose Guest House is a first class Guest House, room 2beautiful with high quality furnishings and everything you require.The breakfast first class plenty of choice and Monique &Jim very friendly the guest house a credit to their hard work, will definitely return.

Reviewer:Elaine G | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 7 months ago


Lovely stay, have stayed here twice before, would stay again - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm modern comfortable room inlcuding en suite shower and bath robes, breakfast delicious, drying room available for wet clothes, the owners are very helpful, walking maps available, right near the centre of Ambleside, excellent location. Love this B&B

Reviewer:Julie P | Sat 17th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


plesent weekend - Rating 5/5

we had a very warm welcome on arrival breakfast was excellent the bed was very comfortable a first class weekend had by all would recommend very highly thanks for a wonderful stay

Reviewer:Michael T | Wed 14th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Clean- Rating 4/5

Lovely and clean,very welcoming hosts...great breakfast...for me the only downside was the shower/toilet for the single room was across the corridor so was little uneasy going to the toilet at night

Reviewer:Owen D | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

Spent the weekend here with a small group of friends as a base to go mountain biking. The whole experience was spot on, from booking over the phone, the welcome on arrival to the helpfulness and quality of the service. The breakfasts were excellent, the room was refurbished to a very high standard and was clean and homely and the hosts were friendly with nothing being too much trouble for them. I will definitely be staying here again, with friends or with family.

Reviewer:Matthew D | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Best B+B we\'ve ever been to, highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for s couple of nights to do some walking. Jim and Monique were very welcoming and helpful and unobtrusive, great balance. Their home has been done up beautifully, with great lighting, bedrooms, and many extra touches e.g. clay toiletries, Lakeland tap water, use of their drying room, loan of a hot flask of coffee for the day for walks, you can even order a picnic lunch for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was amazing. We felt so welcome.

Reviewer:Catherina W | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


October Stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent hospitality. Lovely clean &comfortable room and great breakfast. Just the job for our short stay. We would certainly stay again. Many thanks Jim &Monique.

Reviewer:Michael F | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Fantastic place!! - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend, what is easily the nicest B&B we’ve stayed in at Ambleside. Welcoming hosts, immaculate and well equipped rooms and bathrooms. Fantastic breakfast! We will most definitely be back!

Reviewer:Claire h | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Enjoyable stay at Melrose guest house - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and clean room, excellent breakfast, and very friendly and helpful hosts

Reviewer:Diana S | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely hosts,lovely room, great location! - Rating 5/5

This was an ideal stop for myself and my mum in Ambleside. We travel up to the lakes every year and will certainly be returning.Jim and Monique were lovely hosts, very personable and well prepared with menu samples, racks for muddy boots, board games.Rooms were modern, well kept and well stocked.Good choice of breakfast, orders placed the night before with an eating time to ensure food was fresh and prompt. Gluten free was readily catered for.Ideal location in the centre, with parking spaces available around a 5 minute walk from the b&bThanks both!Rick

Reviewer:Rick A | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

The Melrose guest house is very clean and modern. I visited Ambleside with four friends for a walking break the family roomwas particularly useful to us being a group of five. Breakfast was top quality, location is great for accessing the town centre, secure parking for small charge a couple of hundred yards away from the guest house was useful. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewer:paul l | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


A great stay - Rating 5/5

The Melrose guest house is very clean and modern. I visited Ambleside with four friends for a walking break the family roomwas particularly useful to us being a group of five. Breakfast was top quality, location is great for accessing the town centre, secure parking for small charge a couple of hundred yards away from the guest house was useful. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewer:paul l | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place, great hosts and at ease as soon as inside ,so clean and tastefully done ,room immaculate , lots of information available, safe secure parking if required, just visit you won't be disappointed ! Nice place,well done Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Madeleine S | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Windy week in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, friendly hosts, lovely breakfast, nice room. Would be happy to stay again.

Reviewer:John K | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Recommend - Rating 5/5

Thanks Jim and Monique - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Spa is brilliant, breakfast too.We will be back should we come back to the lakes!

Reviewer:Michael T | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Short break in the lakes - Rating 5/5

Dear Jim and Monique, enjoyed our second visit. Very comfortable lovely bedroom. Very handy for walking into Ambleside. Will certainly be back. Regards Allan and Dirothy Cordall. 😊😊

Reviewer:Dorothy & Alan C | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay at this excellent Guest House which is well situated in the village of Ambleside, allowing access to many amenities/attractions/walks etc within the Lake District.Rooms were very comfortable, breakfast very appetising, and Jim and Monique are excellent hosts.

Reviewer:Jim M | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


October break.- Rating 4/5

We stayed here for a mid week break. Could not fault the hotel. From the welcome to the rooms and breakfast everything was good. Would definitely recommend and hopefully we will be back in the future.

Reviewer:Eileen S | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Weekend Break.- Rating 5/5

We stayed Fri-Sun. Very warm, clean &comfortable. Food quality on offer was outstanding. Hosts very friendly.

Reviewer:Toni M | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Fantastic place to stay, thoroughly recommended- Rating 5/5

Wonderful hosts who gave us a very warm welcome. Guest house is beautiful, absolutely spotless. Rooms are immaculate.Breakfast was very yummy.Jim &Monique were the perfect hosts, nothing to much trouble. Thank you very much. 😀

Reviewer:Rita M | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

We have just enjoyed our 3rd stay with Jim and Monique and another fabulous stay. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Ambleside. Beautiful clean comfy and warm rooms superb breakfast. We will be returning very soon.

Reviewer:Clare B | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Beautiful & Cosy - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Leigh C | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Good all round B and B that ticks all the boxes - Rating 5/5

Great location in Ambleside on the doorstep of the bus station, cinema, shops and tourist information but still quiet on Ambleside bin day which has been the downside of othe Ambleside b&bs we have stayed in. Room was very comfortable and airy with decent size mugs for a cup of tea that lasts more than 2 gulps. Yummy breakfast with plenty of choice and genuinely warm friendly hosts. Best place we’ve stayed in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Catherine c | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Good all round B and B that ticks all the boxes - Rating 5/5

Great location in Ambleside on the doorstep of the bus station, cinema, shops and tourist information but still quiet on Ambleside bin day which has been the downside of othe Ambleside b&bs we have stayed in. Room was very comfortable and airy with decent size mugs for a cup of tea that lasts more than 2 gulps. Yummy breakfast with plenty of choice and genuinely warm friendly hosts. Best place we’ve stayed in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Catherine c | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Couldn’t be better - Rating 5/5

The room was stunning. The food was flavourful and plentiful. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. By far one of the bests B&Bs we’ve been to. Well done to the hosts for doing such a spectacular job. We’ll be back!

Reviewer:Matthew F | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


A great stop over! - Rating 5/5

The B&B is clean, warm and comfortable, nicely decorated with everything I needed. Also handy to have a disc to park outside. I got a good breakfast and everyone was friendly and helpful. Thank you! I will stay again when I'm in the area.

Reviewer:Amanda S | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had the most fantastic stay, the accommodation was lovely everything you needed was provided, very clean but most of all extremely welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the owners couldn’t do enough for you. We will most definitely be back soon. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Tracy T | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Ambleside ambiance- Rating 5/5

Spent 4 nights at Melrose guest house &thoroughly enjoyed it. Good breakfast, cosy room, great hospitality of Jim &Monique. Ambleside is a magical place with nice eating places &lovely walks. It was always a pleasure to return to the comfort of our room at the end of the day. No problem with parking on street after hours either. Will recommend to friends &family!

Reviewer:Barry R | Sat 29th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Faultless - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, well sized room, great value, great continental and cooked breakfast options. Very warm and comfortable. Ideally placed in town but no noise from outside.

Reviewer:Pam B | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


The Melrose- Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Melrose, was very comfortable and very pleasant. Jim and Monique were welcoming and friendly and made our stay all the better. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

Reviewer:Richard B | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Fabulous Guest House - Rating 5/5

Had a fanastic time - beautiful room amazing breakfast fabulous hosts will definitely be back

Reviewer:Christina F | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had the most fantastic stay, the accommodation was lovely everything you needed was provided, very clean but most of all extremely welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the owners couldn’t do enough for you. We will most definitely be back soon. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Tracy T | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Short break in the Lake District - Rating 5/5

The weather was not the best but our stay at Melrose Guesthouse was brilliant. Monique made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Our room was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed and more. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious, with plenty of choice. Will definitely stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Lynda B | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


one night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely people,Spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Edward H | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Spot On - Rating 5/5

Everything about our stay was excellent.We booked direct online with the guesthouse which was a simple, straightforward hassle free process.These was a warm and friendly welcome from Monique when we arrived. Service throughout our stay was top notch.Our room was smartly decorated, clean, comfortable and spacious. The en-suite bathroom looked very new and was to a high spec.Breakfast was fantastic - a good variety of choices using top quality ingredients beautifully prepared and presented. Just the job to set us up for a day of walking.The secure car parking was just a short walk away.

Reviewer:Martin W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Well located, friendly welcome, excellent breakfasts and comfortable room.

Reviewer:Paul R | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


A little gem in the Lakes- Rating 5/5

Monique and Jim could not do enough for you and made you feel really at home, kind friendly hosts. Melrose guest house will be hard to beat for food, rooms and welcome. Will come back soon. Thanks

Reviewer:Mr y | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Brief but very comfortable and accommodating stay. Thank you

Reviewer:Karl H | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Warm, relaxing stay- Rating 5/5

We stayed at Melrose before commencing a circular walking holiday and also at the end of the walk. Jim and Monique are perfect hosts, very attentive and welcoming. The attention to detail is fabulous. The house is beautiful, warm and friendly. Breakfast amazing fresh food with loads of choice! Location couldn’t be better. Centre of town and quiet too. Thank you.

Reviewer:Tracey B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Splendid one night stay, will return for sure - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, exceptionally clean room, great breakfast, only a one night stay, will return for sure, thanks very much !!

Reviewer:Andrew P | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Fantastic friendly guest house in a great location - Rating 5/5

Melrose was a beautiful tasteful guest house in a great location. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Jim and Monnique were wonderful hosts and breakfast was plentiful and varied.

Reviewer:Sue H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Highly Recommended- Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed here and it doesn't disappoint the room was excellent very clean and the staff are very friendly the breakfasts are excellent would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mike T | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique were lovely and welcoming. Our stay was just for one night but they made it an enjoyable one. The breakfast was lovely and the house is stunning. Would recommend this guest house to anyone. Thank you Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Mel B | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Fantastic Guest House- Rating 5/5

Very friendly &fantastic food &service. Immaculately clean &very well maintained rooms &property. Will definately be back.

Reviewer:Jacky J | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


pleasurabe break - Rating 5/5

My stay at your guest house couldn't have been any better. I was well looked after. the room was kept spotless, the breakfast was delicious. Plenty of help &advie was available on places to visit, bus routes ets. I will definately return. Thank you.

Reviewer:steven j | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Melrose guest house- Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel good food very friendly and helpful lovely clean and comfortable roomsDefinitely would return and recommend to everyone

Reviewer:Richard W | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


B&B Stay - Rating 5/5

We would like to say a big thank youto the new owners of the Melrose B&BThe breakfasts are excellentWe would definitely recommend a stay hereAnd will return soonJulie and Graham

Reviewer:MR G T | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Fantastic B and B September 2018 - Rating 5/5

My husband and I were looking for a great place to stay in Ambleside and the Melrose Guest house did not disappoint. This B and B is an absolute gem. Lovely decor, comfortable and very clean. Jim and Monique are lovely hosts whom we found to be very welcoming. Breakfast was more than adequate with Monique making a mean full english. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. One of the best guest houses we've stayed in.

Reviewer:Joanne L | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 4/5

Lovely welcome, comfy rooms, selection of breakfasts, fantastic location, lovely treat of a spa included. Lots of local walk info, games and dvds. Thank you

Reviewer:Kathryn B | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


A most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a fairly central location in Ambleside as a base for a five night stay in the Lakes. After careful research we booked Melrose back in April and arrived in early September. We were met by Jim and Monique, who made us most welcome and who were excellent hosts throughout our stay. The care and attention to detail was outstanding as was the cleanliness of the house - and as for the breakfasts, that was something else! We found their 'library' of local books and maps very helpful. We were also very grateful for the coffee provided in our flask each day as we headed out. Couldn't fault anything.

Reviewer:Graham W | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely Guest House this is.The breakfasts were very tasty.Our room was really comfortable.Clearly Jim and Monique have paid attention to the details that make for a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Carole M | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Exellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice place to stay,close to everything and very friendly. Thumbs up from me👍

Reviewer:Garry M | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Review - Rating 4/5

Warm, clean and very well presented. Excellent breakfast

Reviewer:R B | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Melrose, Ambleside.- Rating 5/5

Excellent standard.

Reviewer:Liam H | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely stay at Melrose- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. Close attention to detail in every aspect, warm welcome, excellent breakfast and comfy room.

Reviewer:Margaret M | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Guest House - Rating 4/5

Perfect guest house accomadation excellent bedrooms spotless. Lots of Restaurants withinwalking distance very well situated for access to the surrounding area . Would stay again.

Reviewer:Kevin W | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Three Night stay - 4th to 7thSeptember 2018.- Rating 5/5

Our visit to Melrose Guest House was most enjoyable. Everything of a very high standard, excellent breakfast, and we we made most welcome. All in all "First Class".

Reviewer:Dennis B | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Magic! - Rating 5/5

Having stayed at Melrose 3 previous timesWith the old owners I was very happy toReturn as all my previous stays were verypleasent. But I have to say that Jim andMonique were absolutely magic and made both myself and mum very welcome. I foundit to be more relaxed with Jim and Monique. More home from home. And Moniques poached eggs are to die for!. So thank you so much for a wonderful and friendly stay anyone would think you had been doing it for years. So well done!!!!🤗🌷

Reviewer:Suzanne G | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean guest house. Monique and Jim both helpful, friendly and welcoming. Will use again if traveling in the Ambleside area

Reviewer:Mary M | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

I can honestly say my stay was beyond my expectations. I could not fault anything.My stay was so enjoyable, such a beautiful house and the staff were so welcoming and genuinely wanted to make sure you were happy. A business that is not made to make money but to make sure you are happy.Many thanks for showing me that there are still people who care in this world.

Reviewer:Mike B | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent small cosy B&B perfectly located in a quiet road close to all amenaties - Rating 5/5

5 star.Lovely B&B excellent value for money.Run by a charming friendly and most helpful couple. Some lovely little touches, water and biscuits in the room nice towels, very clean and comfortable bedroom and private toilet/shower. Breakfast cooked to order (order night before), lovely and fresh served within minutes of sitting down and breakfast containing good quality meats and eggs, bread and coffee.10 out of 10 :)

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Ambliside Weekend - Rating 4/5

Very friendly hosts.Meticulously clean and very central.

Reviewer:Janette j | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely Days in Ambleside- Rating 5/5

This well appointed Guest House in the centre of Ambleside is great. The owners are friendly, caring and run a fine house. Jim &Monique are helpful and welcoming, with a really nice service- not to mention a good breakfast. Going again.

Reviewer:Philip R | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely Days in Ambleside- Rating 5/5

This well appointed Guest House in the centre of Ambleside is great. The owners are friendly, caring and run a fine house. Jim &Monique are helpful and welcoming, with a really nice service- not to mention a good breakfast. Going again.

Reviewer:Philip R | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Great place to enjoy the lakes - Rating 5/5

Throughly Enjoyed our stay.Jim &Monique we’re very hospitable and the accommodation is first class.Breakfast excellent

Reviewer:David M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Babymoon- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 3 nights. Check in was efficient &friendly. The room was lovely &clean. Beds were comfy - Being 32 weeks pregnant I managed to get some sleep so thumbs up. Breakfasts were good quality. It would have been niceto have water out at breakfast &a selection of teas but I am sure if we had asked Jim would have brought some. Enjoyed a relaxing morning at the spa with guest passes. Jim was lovely the whole time. Overall a fantastic place to stay in the middle of the town. Would definitely stay here again &reccommend it to anyone for such a reasonable price. ☺️

Reviewer:Jack R | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


A very pleasant guest house - Rating 4/5

Very much enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Mary T | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Lynne- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 nights at Melrose Guest House.Great breakfast.Jim is a very good host.

Reviewer:Lynne G | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Stay - Rating 4/5

Good central location,nicely presented room,good hearty breakfast, free access to salutation health and spa facilities, nice friendly hosts, no complaints!

Reviewer:Colin W | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


The best guesthouse we’ve ever stayed in - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely with every little thing thought of without us asking! Hosts were so welcoming, greeting us by name daily which really made us feel welcome. Breakfast was out of this world - with fresh fruit and real Cumberland sausage which in my opinion is the only way to judge a decent full english! Thank you so much for a lovely few days in the lakes, will be looking to stay here again next time

Reviewer:michelle p | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


3 night stay at Melrose guest house - Rating 5/5

We found a warm welcome at melrose house.We booked the family room and found it spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.The breakfasts were generous, tasty and well presented.Jim and Monique were excellent hosts and we wish them well.Catherine and Andrew, Thomas and Robert.

Reviewer:Andrew S | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Jim &Monique excellent hosts. Superb breakfast choice. Nice clean and modern family room.Excellent location . Would definately return.Nothingwas too much trouble. Friendly and welcoming.Thank you for making our weekend memorable. Mick,Linda &Kelly.

Reviewer:Linda O | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Corkers Lake District visit - Rating 5/5

Hi Monique and JimThank you so much for a lovely stay and for making us so welcome in your beautiful home!The rooms were so comfortable and beautifully decorated, loved the toiletries.Thank you so much for the fantastic breakfasts, so nicely cooked with quality ingredients, particularly the sausages. Not forgetting the wonderful service from Jim!We couldn't fault our stay with you and would love to stay again, if you could arrange better weather it would be appreciated, but Ambleside and surrounding area are so beautiful.Thank you againThe Corker Family XXX

Reviewer:Joanne C | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Outstanding B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent bed and breakfast in the heart of Ambleside.Hosts Jim and Monique made us very welcome.Room was very clean and a good size.Breakfast was outstanding - we had the full English.We will definitely return

Reviewer:Lorraine C | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Perfect guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Stayed augest for 2 nights and couldnt ask for anything more. Immaculate accomadation, great location and 5* breakfast!Hosts were very helpful and attentive and we will definitely be coming back:)

Reviewer:Gemma D | Sun 19th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

We spent two nights at the Melrose this week. Jim and Monique made us very welcome and our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The Melrose is very convenient for restaurants in Ambleside being only two or three minutes walk from the centre of town but Church street is very quiet in the evening. The reserved parking spaces are only three or four minutes walk away but are secure in a locked compound.Breakfasts were really nice, freshly cooked with good quality ingredients and the coffee was excellent. We couldn't fault anything and would definitely recommend the Melrose.

Reviewer:Kevin M | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

spent three nights at melrose guest-house.could not fault anything.nice and clean rooms. fantastic breakfast. parking available with is a big plus. will be staying here again hopefully soon.

Reviewer:Kim D | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Melrose Guest House - Rating 5/5

What a lovely guest house,lovely decour,spotlessly clean,impressed the moment we walked through the door.We never got to meet Monique but Jim was very very pleasant and would certainly go there again.

Reviewer:Miss W | Mon 6th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Weekend at ambleside- Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay room very clean and very comfortable and peaceful

Reviewer:Robert M | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stay at the Melrose as we were attending a wedding locally. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome and were shown to our beautiful room (very clean and comfortable). Our sleep that evening was great and the breakfast in the morning was just beautiful. A would highly recommend the Melrose and will defiantly be staying again.

Reviewer:Kimberley R | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Friendly, welcoming, homely and great location.- Rating 5/5

We loved it here. Everything was great! Breakfast, Spa, room and location.

Reviewer:Olivia R | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Warm welcome and wonderful stay in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Monique and Jim have succeeded in creating a welcoming home for their guests, providing delicious breakfast options and lots of information about anything you can think of. We found our supposedly "small"room surprisingly big (except, maybe, for the shower), enjoyed the complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits as well as the bottle of "Lakeside tap water";-) and found the place very quiet at night, although it is right in the centre of Ambleside. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable!

Reviewer:Karin W | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

We had a really nice stay at the Melrose Guesthouse. A nice and clean room, delicious breakfast - and the hosts are just fabulous.

Reviewer:Ole Lass J | Wed 1st Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Perfect bed and breakfast- Rating 5/5

Couldn’t fault this accommodation, breakfast perfect , various choices . Room modern and shower modern . The couple who ran the bed and breakfast always had time for you .. nothing was too much trouble perfect weekend away

Reviewer:Linzi W | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

Thanks Jim/Monique for excellent hospitality in all areas. You are doing a wonderful job so keep up the good work!! I would highly recommend staying at Melrose and we’ll be doing so again soon hopefully.Richard

Reviewer:Richard W | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Melrose Guest House-Outstanding- Rating 5/5

Melrose Guest House is a lovely B&B.Jim and Monique are outstanding hosts. Their facility is clean, neat and the location is ideal for those wishing to enjoy Ambleside.The breakfast was delicious and the dinning wonderful.We also enjoyed sitting in the front garden area.I highly recommend the Melrose Guest House to anyone visiting the Lake District.

Reviewer:George B | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Great stay despite losing to Croatia - Rating 5/5

I am by nature a pretty fussy XXXX, but this guesthouse ticked all of the boxes for me. Great location, super friendly staff, clean airy room, and what can one say about Jim's sausage? Seriously, the breakfast was wonderful.I'd strongly recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewer:David H | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place and the welcome from Jim &Monique is so friendly. Great rooms, great location &superb breakfast. Would recommend a stay at the Melrose.

Reviewer:Peter C | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

We had an incredible time staying there.

Reviewer:Rafael B | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 12 months ago


Probably the best in Ambleside! - Rating 5/5

We had a magnificent stay two weeks ago at Melrose Guest House. Evertything was spot on! Great, friendly hosts, clean refurbished rooms, and a very nice complete breakfast. We'll definitely return here. Hospitality at its best!

Reviewer:Ronald K | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 12 months ago


All the comforts and cake - Rating 5/5

Very warm friendly welcome and throughout our stay. Very informative. Every comfort you need. Incredibly good breakfast. Even cake and drink laid on in the afternoon on return from walk which came as a suprise. Good info on eateries in the area, and very clean throughout. Definitely be back.

Reviewer:Jason f | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The perfect base to explore the Lake District - Rating 5/5

The perfect B and B , we are motorcyclists and planned a tour of the lake district with our friends also on a motorcycle , the owner Jim ( also a biker ) made room for our motorcycles at the back of the house . Jim and Monique are excellent hosts nothing is too much trouble , the rooms are excellent and the breakfast was perfect , Monique even laid on cakes and scones with tea and coffee in the afternoon over the weekend . We will definitely be calling there again .Bob and Sandie

Reviewer:Robert W | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent Place To Stay - Rating 4/5

Would certainly recommend the Melrose Guest House.We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely have stayed longer if Jim and Monique had any vacancies.Good sized comfortable en-suite bedroom on the ground floor.Breakfast was excellent and it was refreshing to find that fruit, yoghurt and smoked salmon were on the menu as well as the traditional cooked breakfast. No parking for cars on the premises but Jim has 4 places reserved for a small fee in a private car park within a few minutes walk. Very friendly and welcoming.Would definitely book with them again.

Reviewer:Caroline & | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


First class- Rating 5/5

My stay at the Melrose was excellent , Jim and monique were great hosts. I will be returning for sure.

Reviewer:Michael T | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A very happy fell walker! - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Jim &Monique for a wonderful stay &arranging the superb weather too! Excellent breakfasts to set me up for the day in the hills. I will certainly be staying again in the not to distant future.

Reviewer:RICHARD B | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay and the hosts were excellent,1st class breakfast.

Reviewer:George R | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay, great hosts - Rating 5/5

Melrose is a well situated B&B in Ambleside. Jim and a Monique were great hosts, very eager to offer any assistance. They provided a generous and delicious breakfast as well as afternoon tea.

Reviewer:Colleen R | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Recommeded - Rating 5/5

It was the first time we stayed here and we were not disappointed. Immaculate throughout very friendly and helpful. Loved the breakfasts and such a wide choice would definitely go back would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mike T | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay, lovely house, room nicely decorated and comfortable all very clean and new.Hosts couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, good food.Secure parking.Will go again.

Reviewer:Jean C | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


We\'ll be Back! - Rating 5/5

Great host, excellent location and facilities, beautifully presented and tasty breakfast...couldn't have asked for more!

Reviewer:Stephen S | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfectly situated. - Rating 5/5

Jim &Monique are lovely people &nothing is too much trouble. Our room was perfectly clean,especially the bathroom/shower. The breakfast is first class as well. Car parking available for £3 per night within walking distance.

Reviewer:Ian L | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Relaxing Stay at Melrose - Rating 5/5

On arrival Jim gave us a warm welcome and showed us to the delightful room. We submitted our breakfast request in the evening and after an excellent nights sleep we sat down for a lovely Vegan Breakfast freshly cooked by Monique which was delicious. She even went to the trouble of getting us some Vegan Spread for the toast.After taking part in the Great North Swim is was a lovely chilled stay in the town of Ambleside and very close to the centre for great pubs, shops and restaurants. We were also given a parking disc to use for our stay and made use of the passes for Whites Recreation Ground around the corner.Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Ryan P | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent location. - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with our stay at Melrose Guest House.The owners were friendly and helpful and the house is very central for everything. Breakfast was very good.The room (small double) was fine but the bathroom was very tiny - just as well we are slim.

Reviewer:Maureen F | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay at Melrose Guest House- Rating 5/5

Our room at Melrose Guest House was small yet comfortable. The room and the whole house were very clean. The room came with wide selectionsof coffee, tea and other drinks. The owners were nice and helpful. The breakfast was great with choices, include vegetarian foods. Overall we were so happy and will stay at Melrose Guest House again if we are back in Lake District.

Reviewer:Supavan P | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay x - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guesthouse run by 2 great hosts. Room was spotless and bed very comfy, breakfast each day was amazing with loads on offer! Walking distance from shops and about a 20 minute (1 mile) walk from the pier where you can get boats up and down the lake. We will Definitley return! Thanks to Jim &Monique :)

Reviewer:Susie M | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Lovely 3 night stay in this exceptional guest house with wonderful hosts in jim and monique.we had agreat breakfast each morning with plenty of choice and will definitely be booking again next year.

Reviewer:Neil K | Thu 31st May 2018 | 1 year ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Just booked a last minute bank holiday get away here and it was excellent. We had a lovely warm welcome, the service was superb and the breakfast was amazing.We would highly recommend and will be staying here again. Thank you.

Reviewer:joanne j | Wed 30th May 2018 | 1 year ago


First class- Rating 5/5

First class stay again everything was perfectRoom very clean, breakfast amazing with lotsChoice.We've already booked for September

Reviewer:Leon B | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Awesome Ambleside - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Melrose Guest House. Jim and Monique were wonderful hosts and very helpful. We were served a delicious breakfast and. Wet much enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend staying here!

Reviewer:Hayden L | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and foodIn addition everyone was very friendly and helpfuland in great location.

Reviewer:Mary S | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 year ago


The Lakes - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay. Room of a good size and very quiet and clean .Breakfast first class. The hosts could not be more helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Allan H | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely fantastic- Rating 5/5

What can I say. This is the best B and B we have ever stayed in. Room was spotless, lovely bed, so comfortable and fresh bedding. Breakfast perfect especially the poached eggs. Lovely touch one afternoon with coffee/tea and cake when we got back from our day out. Thank you Monique and Jim for our wonderful stay with you, we will be back as you already know. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Robert S | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Fabulous place to stay - Rating 5/5

Our room was so clean and comfortable, tea and coffee was well stocked and Jim was so helpful and went out of his way to meet a special request of ours and he helped us with parking and our suitcase.

Reviewer:Christine M | Thu 24th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic weekend- Rating 5/5

Amazing place lovely friendly and made to feel very welcome good fantastic choice lovely rooms beautiful clean and very comfortable will defo be coming back regards viv davies and family x

Reviewer:Viv D | Mon 21st May 2018 | 1 year ago


A great small place - Rating 5/5

The best bed&breakfast, I could think of, run by outstandingly nice people. I slept very well and the breakfast has been fantastic for my taste. Well, don't go here and expect a luxury hotel, but if you appreciate a good guesthouse, this is the place.A warm thank you to Jim and everyone.I had a perfect stay.

Reviewer:Magnus K | Sat 19th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Lakes Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely B &B situated in Ambleside. Twenty minute walk to Lake Windamere. Spotless cleanlovely decor. Nothing too much trouble for hosts.

Reviewer:Timothy R | Fri 18th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Place & Location - Rating 5/5

We both had a wonderful time with our hosts being friendly and helpful. Accommodation was clean and spacious. We will definitely recommend for a perfect stay in the lakes.

Reviewer:Iain W | Thu 17th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely guesthouse! - Rating 5/5

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Melrose. The hosts are very helpful, great breakfast, and the use of the spa at the Salutation Hotel was a great bonus. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Vivian D | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique have a lovely place in Melrose Guest House. The are a great couple who are attentive and friendly, nothing is any trouble. The guest house is ideally located in Ambleside. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and breakfasts are perfect. I have no problem recommending Melrose Guest House to my friends, confident they will enjoy their stay.

Reviewer:Tom P | Sun 13th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

Great location. Very clean and great breakfasts with good choice. Jim and Monique could not have been more helpful, great hosts. No problem recommending Melrose to friends.

Reviewer:Tom P | Sun 13th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Very welcoming guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay 3-day stay at Melrose Guest House.From the moment we arrived, Jim and Monique could not have been more hospitable.Although they have only been running the Melrose for a few months, they were full of useful tips and have an excellent supply of maps and local information.The location is perfect:right in the heart of Ambleside and its wide variety of amenities.They have a limited number of private car parking spaces - a real advantage given how difficult long-term parking is in Ambleside.The room we stayed in (No 2) was very comfortable and provided a real haven after a hard day's walking.The breakfasts were a real treat:prepared to order, very tasty and definitely requiring a good walk to burn off.We had a very pleasant stay at the Melrose and will definitely stay there again as/when we make it back to the Lakes.

Reviewer:Jonathan D | Sat 12th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique very welcoming and friendly.Helpful with any info required. Good breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. Ground floor room useful if you can't do stairs. Relaxing stay.

Reviewer:Mrs Fiona W | Sat 12th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Staying at your B&B - Rating 5/5

Thanks you for your hospitality, we enjoyed our time, and would stay again.Marian &Brian x

Reviewer:Marion T | Tue 8th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Melrose for a week .jim and Monique were lovely hosts breakfast was very tasty good place to base yourself for the lakes.rooms were always kept nice and tidy everyday would stay here again

Reviewer:ricky S | Sun 6th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Tranquil - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay. Convenient location, friendly, clean and beautiful breakfasts! Would happily stay there again.

Reviewer:Kirstin M | Fri 4th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B in a great location, lots of pubs near by, very clean, nice bathrooms, comfy bed, amazing breakfast! Great hospitality, very friendly and welcoming!Absolutely no faults! Would definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Charlotte V | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

Good quality B &B. Nice size room , everything spotless. Good breakfast with good choice. Jim and Monique cheerful and helpful. Would recommend

Reviewer:jon s | Wed 2nd May 2018 | 1 year ago


Already thinking of next stay- Rating 5/5

Exceĺlent hosts. Beds just right, very comfortable. Decor lovely through out very good. Hot water when ever needed. Great breakfast.Hosts Monique &Jim are a lovely couple.

Reviewer:Derek P | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


A home away from home - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at Melrose! Couldnt fault a thing. Jim &Monique were friendly and attentive,our room was cosy and beautifully presented. Our breakfast was first class. The property is well positioned for seeing the sights and we would definitely recommend it to one &all. Congratulations on a great job Jim &Monique.

Reviewer:Larraine E | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely weekend in Anbleside- Rating 5/5

Fantastic location in the heart of Ambleside. Accomodation exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with a good choice on offer and freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful therfore looking forward to booking our next trip to Melrose Guest House and will definatly recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Julie M | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Great location- Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house with really helpful owners Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Penelope F | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay, will be going back

Reviewer:Amanda J | Tue 20th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect location - Rating 4/5

We spent a night in Melrose in order to attend a family celebration in Ambleside. We found it to be clean, tidy and the owners were very attentive but not overpowering. It is in the perfect location and they serve up a great breakfast. It will be our 'go to' place when visiting Ambleside again. This is the owners first season and we sincerely wish them all the best for the future!

Reviewer:Richard E | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect location- Rating 4/5

We spent a night in Melrose in order to attend a family celebration in Ambleside. We found it to be clean, tidy and the owners were very attentive but not overpowering. It is in the perfect location and they serve up a great breakfast. It will be our 'go to' place when visiting Ambleside again. This is the owners first season and we sincerely wish them all the best for the future!

Reviewer:Richard E | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


What a place - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant. From the greeting to departure Jim and Monique were outstanding.Room spotlessly clean decor lovely.If anyone wanting to stay in the lakes I strongly recommend Melrose Guest House. We will definitely be booking again

Reviewer:Keith P | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Return visit - Rating 5/5

This visit proved as welcoming and comfortable as a past visit with the prior owners. Glad to meet Jim and Monique and look forward to possible visits.

Reviewer:MARK H | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Would recommend staying to anyone. Exceptionally clean fantastic breakfast and hosts were very friendly.

Reviewer:Adam S | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at the Melrose - Rating 5/5

Our stay at your guest house was outstanding the room was fabulous. We were made welcome from the minute we arrived.lts the best guest house we have ever stayed at. Brilliant!!!

Reviewer:Christine R | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Ambleside B+ B - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a replacement to our previous B+B which had now closed down ..MelRose House certainly fits the Bill in every way ..Excellent in every way...

Reviewer:Derek M | Mon 19th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay!!! - Rating 5/5

A beautifully presented guesthouse. Fantastic service, the hosts went above and beyond to ensure we had a good stay. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Lindsey C | Mon 12th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location with secure parking just down the road. Wonderful, friendly hosts who can’t do enough to help. Delicious breakfast, great choice.

Reviewer:Gill L | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Always a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Vaughan J | Fri 19th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend in lakes - Rating 5/5

What a lovely guesthouse we were very impressed hotel and room were spotless and cosy we were made to feel welcome from the start breakfast was awesome will defo stay again

Reviewer:Steven H | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Great hospitality from Jim and Monica from checking inn to leaving. Made us very welcomed and included our little boy whos 5 our room was lovely downstairs.my boy said it was his den had everything we neededOnly 1.downsaid the bacon and sausages were slighty over done for our liking but overall good breakfast

Reviewer:Clare H | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


New Year Break - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and very helpful and friendly hosts. Nothing was too much for them. The room was clean and decorated tastefully. The attention to detail was perfect. The breakfast was excellent and we liked the idea of ordering the evening before which saved time. The dining room was clean and again tastefully decorated. The best New Year we have had. We will definitely be returning to the Melrose again.

Reviewer:Carole M | Sun 7th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

This was a clean and friendly guest house, with a extremely polite and friendly people that were running the place. My breakfast was also very good, I would recommend anyone to stop here and your right in the centre.,

Reviewer:Andrew C | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Melrose place - Rating 4/5

This was a clean and friendly guest house, with a extremely polite and friendly people that were running the place. My breakfast was also very good, I would recommend anyone to stop here and your right in the centre.,

Reviewer:Andrew C | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Melrose Guest House - Rating 4/5

This was a clean and friendly guest house, with a extremely polite and friendly people that were running the place. My breakfast was also very good, I would recommend anyone to stop here and your right in the centre.,

Reviewer:Andrew C | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Spot on - Rating 5/5

Just back from 2 night stay was excellent very cleanAnd the breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was to muchtrouble for jim. Good parking facilities 2 minutes down the road only £3 per day.Enjoy it that much booked again for may.

Reviewer:Leon B | Sat 30th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Fab stay - Rating 5/5

My stay in Ambleside, was throughly enjoyed, more so because of my stay at Melrose, the room was presented lovely also really clean and cosy, breakfast was absolutely yummy and I would have no reservations about staying in this lovely guesthouse again, thank you so much

Reviewer:Ann P | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Short stay - Rating 4/5

We had a really enjoyableweekend guest housewas lovelybreakfast was lovely and the cople themselves were really friendly although there is no off streetparking for an extra 3 pound per night they have a limitednumber of parking spaces in a compond onlycouple minutes from theguest house

Reviewer:arthur G | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay. - Rating 4/5

A lovely place with a great location.Nice breakfast to set you on your way for the day.

Reviewer:George R | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Great- Rating 4/5

Very nice guest house , great central location , very clean and comfortable, owners very welcoming

Reviewer:Paula C | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


I’ve honestly never stayed in a B&B/guesthouse before.. - Rating 5/5

Firstly I’d like to say that Monique and Jim are lovely professional people.I honestly never stayed in a B&B before, because of the horror stories, strict rules and the thought of eating in someone’s living room just felt wrong.. but after last night, I’d roccomend the Melrose Guesthoise to you all.The room was modern but cosy and it was very very clean.I stay in a LOT of hotels for work, and this place meets most good hotels hands down!!Im unually dissapointed With breakfasts too.. but here it was made to order and it was bloody lovely!The location couldn’t be better too, you’re a minutes walk in to town and all Ambleside has to offer.If you find yourself in Ambleside, give this place a whirl. Great people, great room. great location.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Clean, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean, owners friendly without being intrusive. Great location with quiet rooms and hot showers.Fab view from room 4 at the top of the house.

Reviewer:Lynn M | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights and the minute you walk through the door you know you are going to have a fabulous stay with the greeting you get, also the place was immaculate and breakfast fantastic definitely be back .

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Very clean and efficiently run.Had a pleasant weekend stay in the family room which worked well for us.Hosts very friendly.Brilliant convient location

Reviewer:Naomi P | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a great time staying in Ambleside in this well situated guest house, we were given a great welcome and our host helped in anyway possible. Lovely place

Reviewer:David B | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Just got back after spending three nights at this guest house all I can say is it is fabulous the host Jim made you feel very welcome the minute you walked through the door spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fantastic will be going back

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Ambleside weekend- Rating 5/5

A fantastic weekend . Great location . Excellent hosts who couldn't do enough for you . Spotless rooms and a first class breakfast too . Will definitely be visiting again next year .

Reviewer:Joanne S | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Rooms spot on, excellent location first class breakfast, perfect hosts

Reviewer:Paul B | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect destination- Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay , Jim was a very friendly bloke , room was excellent, service amazing , very close to all of the town eateries, # Lucy on a plate , very quiet and comfortable room , you will be spoiled with quality service ,

Reviewer:Joan P | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Jim was very helpful on arrival, good room and breakfast, very close to the centre.

Reviewer:sharon g | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Would Stay Again - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay . Very welcoming. Clean and friendly. The only gripe i have is perhaps a bit more power in the shower ! Plan to stay here again next year.

Reviewer:JO P | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay at Melrose guest house nothing was any trouble for Jim and the staff , rooms comfortable ,will be back at Melrose next summer ,Thank you Jim &Monika

Reviewer:Ernest N | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Break - Rating 4/5

Excellent service and location. Friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.Parking in the area is not cheap and none was available at Melrose.but we were sensibly advised to buy a 3 day ticket which is valid in multiple town car parks. A minor observation for us would be that the beds were a bit too soft for our taste, but comfortable nonetheless.

Reviewer:Paul M | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

This certainly was our best B&B stay in UK ! No exaggeration here . The moment you enter you smell “clean” . Very elegantly decorated . Nothing over powering , simple , neat, nice and practicle.We had small double room which was good for us. The ensuit was small , may be not for big people but very clean . The only thing I would suggest would be replacing the shower head as the water flow was slow. But again not the end of the world.Rooms were clean when we came back after our breakfast !Breaskfast was really good , the dining room is very relaxing and felt very homely . Plenty of good coffee , lots of cereal choices . And cooked breakfast was presented nicely and tasty.We stayed there 3 nights , now moved to another location and missing Melrose and regretting not staying there for the whole week we have planned in Lake District.Will come back again and again .Highly recommended . As you feel welcomed. The owners are the friendliest and gentle people I have met so far in B&B’sNo smoking and no take away policy which is really good as you don’t smell any food items in the house apart from lovely smell in the morning of breakfast being cooked !

Reviewer:Sheema A | Thu 19th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays