Reviews

What people are saying about Melrose Guest House




Probably the best in Ambleside! - Rating 5/5

We had a magnificent stay two weeks ago at Melrose Guest House. Evertything was spot on! Great, friendly hosts, clean refurbished rooms, and a very nice complete breakfast. We'll definitely return here. Hospitality at its best!

Reviewer:Ronald K | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 5 days ago


All the comforts and cake - Rating 5/5

Very warm friendly welcome and throughout our stay. Very informative. Every comfort you need. Incredibly good breakfast. Even cake and drink laid on in the afternoon on return from walk which came as a suprise. Good info on eateries in the area, and very clean throughout. Definitely be back.

Reviewer:Jason f | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 6 days ago


The perfect base to explore the Lake District - Rating 5/5

The perfect B and B , we are motorcyclists and planned a tour of the lake district with our friends also on a motorcycle , the owner Jim ( also a biker ) made room for our motorcycles at the back of the house . Jim and Monique are excellent hosts nothing is too much trouble , the rooms are excellent and the breakfast was perfect , Monique even laid on cakes and scones with tea and coffee in the afternoon over the weekend . We will definitely be calling there again .Bob and Sandie

Reviewer:Robert W | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 week ago


Excellent Place To Stay - Rating 4/5

Would certainly recommend the Melrose Guest House.We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely have stayed longer if Jim and Monique had any vacancies.Good sized comfortable en-suite bedroom on the ground floor.Breakfast was excellent and it was refreshing to find that fruit, yoghurt and smoked salmon were on the menu as well as the traditional cooked breakfast. No parking for cars on the premises but Jim has 4 places reserved for a small fee in a private car park within a few minutes walk. Very friendly and welcoming.Would definitely book with them again.

Reviewer:Caroline & | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 week ago


First class- Rating 5/5

My stay at the Melrose was excellent , Jim and monique were great hosts. I will be returning for sure.

Reviewer:Michael T | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 1 week ago


A very happy fell walker! - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Jim &Monique for a wonderful stay &arranging the superb weather too! Excellent breakfasts to set me up for the day in the hills. I will certainly be staying again in the not to distant future.

Reviewer:RICHARD B | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 week ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay and the hosts were excellent,1st class breakfast.

Reviewer:George R | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Comfortable stay, great hosts - Rating 5/5

Melrose is a well situated B&B in Ambleside. Jim and a Monique were great hosts, very eager to offer any assistance. They provided a generous and delicious breakfast as well as afternoon tea.

Reviewer:Colleen R | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Recommeded - Rating 5/5

It was the first time we stayed here and we were not disappointed. Immaculate throughout very friendly and helpful. Loved the breakfasts and such a wide choice would definitely go back would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mike T | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay, lovely house, room nicely decorated and comfortable all very clean and new.Hosts couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, good food.Secure parking.Will go again.

Reviewer:Jean C | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 3 weeks ago


We\'ll be Back! - Rating 5/5

Great host, excellent location and facilities, beautifully presented and tasty breakfast...couldn't have asked for more!

Reviewer:Stephen S | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Perfectly situated. - Rating 5/5

Jim &Monique are lovely people &nothing is too much trouble. Our room was perfectly clean,especially the bathroom/shower. The breakfast is first class as well. Car parking available for £3 per night within walking distance.

Reviewer:Ian L | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely Relaxing Stay at Melrose - Rating 5/5

On arrival Jim gave us a warm welcome and showed us to the delightful room. We submitted our breakfast request in the evening and after an excellent nights sleep we sat down for a lovely Vegan Breakfast freshly cooked by Monique which was delicious. She even went to the trouble of getting us some Vegan Spread for the toast.After taking part in the Great North Swim is was a lovely chilled stay in the town of Ambleside and very close to the centre for great pubs, shops and restaurants. We were also given a parking disc to use for our stay and made use of the passes for Whites Recreation Ground around the corner.Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Ryan P | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent location. - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with our stay at Melrose Guest House.The owners were friendly and helpful and the house is very central for everything. Breakfast was very good.The room (small double) was fine but the bathroom was very tiny - just as well we are slim.

Reviewer:Maureen F | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Pleasant stay at Melrose Guest House- Rating 5/5

Our room at Melrose Guest House was small yet comfortable. The room and the whole house were very clean. The room came with wide selectionsof coffee, tea and other drinks. The owners were nice and helpful. The breakfast was great with choices, include vegetarian foods. Overall we were so happy and will stay at Melrose Guest House again if we are back in Lake District.

Reviewer:Supavan P | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay x - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guesthouse run by 2 great hosts. Room was spotless and bed very comfy, breakfast each day was amazing with loads on offer! Walking distance from shops and about a 20 minute (1 mile) walk from the pier where you can get boats up and down the lake. We will Definitley return! Thanks to Jim &Monique :)

Reviewer:Susie M | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Lovely 3 night stay in this exceptional guest house with wonderful hosts in jim and monique.we had agreat breakfast each morning with plenty of choice and will definitely be booking again next year.

Reviewer:Neil K | Thu 31st May 2018 | 1 month ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Just booked a last minute bank holiday get away here and it was excellent. We had a lovely warm welcome, the service was superb and the breakfast was amazing.We would highly recommend and will be staying here again. Thank you.

Reviewer:joanne j | Wed 30th May 2018 | 1 month ago


First class- Rating 5/5

First class stay again everything was perfectRoom very clean, breakfast amazing with lotsChoice.We've already booked for September

Reviewer:Leon B | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Awesome Ambleside - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Melrose Guest House. Jim and Monique were wonderful hosts and very helpful. We were served a delicious breakfast and. Wet much enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend staying here!

Reviewer:Hayden L | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and foodIn addition everyone was very friendly and helpfuland in great location.

Reviewer:Mary S | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 month ago


The Lakes - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay. Room of a good size and very quiet and clean .Breakfast first class. The hosts could not be more helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Allan H | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Absolutely fantastic- Rating 5/5

What can I say. This is the best B and B we have ever stayed in. Room was spotless, lovely bed, so comfortable and fresh bedding. Breakfast perfect especially the poached eggs. Lovely touch one afternoon with coffee/tea and cake when we got back from our day out. Thank you Monique and Jim for our wonderful stay with you, we will be back as you already know. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Robert S | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous place to stay - Rating 5/5

Our room was so clean and comfortable, tea and coffee was well stocked and Jim was so helpful and went out of his way to meet a special request of ours and he helped us with parking and our suitcase.

Reviewer:Christine M | Thu 24th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Fantastic weekend- Rating 5/5

Amazing place lovely friendly and made to feel very welcome good fantastic choice lovely rooms beautiful clean and very comfortable will defo be coming back regards viv davies and family x

Reviewer:Viv D | Mon 21st May 2018 | 2 months ago


A great small place - Rating 5/5

The best bed&breakfast, I could think of, run by outstandingly nice people. I slept very well and the breakfast has been fantastic for my taste. Well, don't go here and expect a luxury hotel, but if you appreciate a good guesthouse, this is the place.A warm thank you to Jim and everyone.I had a perfect stay.

Reviewer:Magnus K | Sat 19th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Lakes Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely B &B situated in Ambleside. Twenty minute walk to Lake Windamere. Spotless cleanlovely decor. Nothing too much trouble for hosts.

Reviewer:Timothy R | Fri 18th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Great Place & Location - Rating 5/5

We both had a wonderful time with our hosts being friendly and helpful. Accommodation was clean and spacious. We will definitely recommend for a perfect stay in the lakes.

Reviewer:Iain W | Thu 17th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely guesthouse! - Rating 5/5

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Melrose. The hosts are very helpful, great breakfast, and the use of the spa at the Salutation Hotel was a great bonus. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Vivian D | Wed 16th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique have a lovely place in Melrose Guest House. The are a great couple who are attentive and friendly, nothing is any trouble. The guest house is ideally located in Ambleside. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and breakfasts are perfect. I have no problem recommending Melrose Guest House to my friends, confident they will enjoy their stay.

Reviewer:Tom P | Sun 13th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

Great location. Very clean and great breakfasts with good choice. Jim and Monique could not have been more helpful, great hosts. No problem recommending Melrose to friends.

Reviewer:Tom P | Sun 13th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Very welcoming guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay 3-day stay at Melrose Guest House.From the moment we arrived, Jim and Monique could not have been more hospitable.Although they have only been running the Melrose for a few months, they were full of useful tips and have an excellent supply of maps and local information.The location is perfect:right in the heart of Ambleside and its wide variety of amenities.They have a limited number of private car parking spaces - a real advantage given how difficult long-term parking is in Ambleside.The room we stayed in (No 2) was very comfortable and provided a real haven after a hard day's walking.The breakfasts were a real treat:prepared to order, very tasty and definitely requiring a good walk to burn off.We had a very pleasant stay at the Melrose and will definitely stay there again as/when we make it back to the Lakes.

Reviewer:Jonathan D | Sat 12th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique very welcoming and friendly.Helpful with any info required. Good breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. Ground floor room useful if you can't do stairs. Relaxing stay.

Reviewer:Mrs Fiona W | Sat 12th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Staying at your B&B - Rating 5/5

Thanks you for your hospitality, we enjoyed our time, and would stay again.Marian &Brian x

Reviewer:Marion T | Tue 8th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Melrose for a week .jim and Monique were lovely hosts breakfast was very tasty good place to base yourself for the lakes.rooms were always kept nice and tidy everyday would stay here again

Reviewer:ricky S | Sun 6th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Tranquil - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay. Convenient location, friendly, clean and beautiful breakfasts! Would happily stay there again.

Reviewer:Kirstin M | Fri 4th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B in a great location, lots of pubs near by, very clean, nice bathrooms, comfy bed, amazing breakfast! Great hospitality, very friendly and welcoming!Absolutely no faults! Would definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Charlotte V | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 2 months ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

Good quality B &B. Nice size room , everything spotless. Good breakfast with good choice. Jim and Monique cheerful and helpful. Would recommend

Reviewer:jon s | Wed 2nd May 2018 | 2 months ago


Already thinking of next stay- Rating 5/5

Exceĺlent hosts. Beds just right, very comfortable. Decor lovely through out very good. Hot water when ever needed. Great breakfast.Hosts Monique &Jim are a lovely couple.

Reviewer:Derek P | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 2 months ago


A home away from home - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at Melrose! Couldnt fault a thing. Jim &Monique were friendly and attentive,our room was cosy and beautifully presented. Our breakfast was first class. The property is well positioned for seeing the sights and we would definitely recommend it to one &all. Congratulations on a great job Jim &Monique.

Reviewer:Larraine E | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely weekend in Anbleside- Rating 5/5

Fantastic location in the heart of Ambleside. Accomodation exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with a good choice on offer and freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful therfore looking forward to booking our next trip to Melrose Guest House and will definatly recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Julie M | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 2 months ago


Great location- Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house with really helpful owners Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Penelope F | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 3 months ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay, will be going back

Reviewer:Amanda J | Tue 20th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect location- Rating 4/5

We spent a night in Melrose in order to attend a family celebration in Ambleside. We found it to be clean, tidy and the owners were very attentive but not overpowering. It is in the perfect location and they serve up a great breakfast. It will be our 'go to' place when visiting Ambleside again. This is the owners first season and we sincerely wish them all the best for the future!

Reviewer:Richard E | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


What a place - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant. From the greeting to departure Jim and Monique were outstanding.Room spotlessly clean decor lovely.If anyone wanting to stay in the lakes I strongly recommend Melrose Guest House. We will definitely be booking again

Reviewer:Keith P | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


Return visit - Rating 5/5

This visit proved as welcoming and comfortable as a past visit with the prior owners. Glad to meet Jim and Monique and look forward to possible visits.

Reviewer:MARK H | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Would recommend staying to anyone. Exceptionally clean fantastic breakfast and hosts were very friendly.

Reviewer:Adam S | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 4 months ago


Stay at the Melrose - Rating 5/5

Our stay at your guest house was outstanding the room was fabulous. We were made welcome from the minute we arrived.lts the best guest house we have ever stayed at. Brilliant!!!

Reviewer:Christine R | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 4 months ago


Ambleside B+ B - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a replacement to our previous B+B which had now closed down ..MelRose House certainly fits the Bill in every way ..Excellent in every way...

Reviewer:Derek M | Mon 19th Feb 2018 | 5 months ago


Fantastic stay!!! - Rating 5/5

A beautifully presented guesthouse. Fantastic service, the hosts went above and beyond to ensure we had a good stay. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Lindsey C | Mon 12th Feb 2018 | 5 months ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location with secure parking just down the road. Wonderful, friendly hosts who can’t do enough to help. Delicious breakfast, great choice.

Reviewer:Gill L | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Always a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Vaughan J | Fri 19th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Weekend in lakes - Rating 5/5

What a lovely guesthouse we were very impressed hotel and room were spotless and cosy we were made to feel welcome from the start breakfast was awesome will defo stay again

Reviewer:Steven H | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Great hospitality from Jim and Monica from checking inn to leaving. Made us very welcomed and included our little boy whos 5 our room was lovely downstairs.my boy said it was his den had everything we neededOnly 1.downsaid the bacon and sausages were slighty over done for our liking but overall good breakfast

Reviewer:Clare H | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


New Year Break - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and very helpful and friendly hosts. Nothing was too much for them. The room was clean and decorated tastefully. The attention to detail was perfect. The breakfast was excellent and we liked the idea of ordering the evening before which saved time. The dining room was clean and again tastefully decorated. The best New Year we have had. We will definitely be returning to the Melrose again.

Reviewer:Carole M | Sun 7th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Melrose Guest House - Rating 4/5

This was a clean and friendly guest house, with a extremely polite and friendly people that were running the place. My breakfast was also very good, I would recommend anyone to stop here and your right in the centre.,

Reviewer:Andrew C | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Spot on - Rating 5/5

Just back from 2 night stay was excellent very cleanAnd the breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was to muchtrouble for jim. Good parking facilities 2 minutes down the road only £3 per day.Enjoy it that much booked again for may.

Reviewer:Leon B | Sat 30th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Fab stay - Rating 5/5

My stay in Ambleside, was throughly enjoyed, more so because of my stay at Melrose, the room was presented lovely also really clean and cosy, breakfast was absolutely yummy and I would have no reservations about staying in this lovely guesthouse again, thank you so much

Reviewer:Ann P | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 7 months ago


Short stay - Rating 4/5

We had a really enjoyableweekend guest housewas lovelybreakfast was lovely and the cople themselves were really friendly although there is no off streetparking for an extra 3 pound per night they have a limitednumber of parking spaces in a compond onlycouple minutes from theguest house

Reviewer:arthur G | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 7 months ago


Lovely stay. - Rating 4/5

A lovely place with a great location.Nice breakfast to set you on your way for the day.

Reviewer:George R | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Great- Rating 4/5

Very nice guest house , great central location , very clean and comfortable, owners very welcoming

Reviewer:Paula C | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


I’ve honestly never stayed in a B&B/guesthouse before.. - Rating 5/5

Firstly I’d like to say that Monique and Jim are lovely professional people.I honestly never stayed in a B&B before, because of the horror stories, strict rules and the thought of eating in someone’s living room just felt wrong.. but after last night, I’d roccomend the Melrose Guesthoise to you all.The room was modern but cosy and it was very very clean.I stay in a LOT of hotels for work, and this place meets most good hotels hands down!!Im unually dissapointed With breakfasts too.. but here it was made to order and it was bloody lovely!The location couldn’t be better too, you’re a minutes walk in to town and all Ambleside has to offer.If you find yourself in Ambleside, give this place a whirl. Great people, great room. great location.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Clean, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean, owners friendly without being intrusive. Great location with quiet rooms and hot showers.Fab view from room 4 at the top of the house.

Reviewer:Lynn M | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Fabulous guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights and the minute you walk through the door you know you are going to have a fabulous stay with the greeting you get, also the place was immaculate and breakfast fantastic definitely be back .

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Very clean and efficiently run.Had a pleasant weekend stay in the family room which worked well for us.Hosts very friendly.Brilliant convient location

Reviewer:Naomi P | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a great time staying in Ambleside in this well situated guest house, we were given a great welcome and our host helped in anyway possible. Lovely place

Reviewer:David B | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Just got back after spending three nights at this guest house all I can say is it is fabulous the host Jim made you feel very welcome the minute you walked through the door spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fantastic will be going back

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Ambleside weekend- Rating 5/5

A fantastic weekend . Great location . Excellent hosts who couldn't do enough for you . Spotless rooms and a first class breakfast too . Will definitely be visiting again next year .

Reviewer:Joanne S | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Rooms spot on, excellent location first class breakfast, perfect hosts

Reviewer:Paul B | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Perfect destination- Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay , Jim was a very friendly bloke , room was excellent, service amazing , very close to all of the town eateries, # Lucy on a plate , very quiet and comfortable room , you will be spoiled with quality service ,

Reviewer:Joan P | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Jim was very helpful on arrival, good room and breakfast, very close to the centre.

Reviewer:sharon g | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Would Stay Again - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay . Very welcoming. Clean and friendly. The only gripe i have is perhaps a bit more power in the shower ! Plan to stay here again next year.

Reviewer:JO P | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay at Melrose guest house nothing was any trouble for Jim and the staff , rooms comfortable ,will be back at Melrose next summer ,Thank you Jim &Monika

Reviewer:Ernest N | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 9 months ago


Great Break - Rating 4/5

Excellent service and location. Friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.Parking in the area is not cheap and none was available at Melrose.but we were sensibly advised to buy a 3 day ticket which is valid in multiple town car parks. A minor observation for us would be that the beds were a bit too soft for our taste, but comfortable nonetheless.

Reviewer:Paul M | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 9 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

This certainly was our best B&B stay in UK ! No exaggeration here . The moment you enter you smell “clean” . Very elegantly decorated . Nothing over powering , simple , neat, nice and practicle.We had small double room which was good for us. The ensuit was small , may be not for big people but very clean . The only thing I would suggest would be replacing the shower head as the water flow was slow. But again not the end of the world.Rooms were clean when we came back after our breakfast !Breaskfast was really good , the dining room is very relaxing and felt very homely . Plenty of good coffee , lots of cereal choices . And cooked breakfast was presented nicely and tasty.We stayed there 3 nights , now moved to another location and missing Melrose and regretting not staying there for the whole week we have planned in Lake District.Will come back again and again .Highly recommended . As you feel welcomed. The owners are the friendliest and gentle people I have met so far in B&B’sNo smoking and no take away policy which is really good as you don’t smell any food items in the house apart from lovely smell in the morning of breakfast being cooked !

Reviewer:Sheema A | Thu 19th Oct 2017 | 9 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays