Reviews

What people are saying about Melrose Guest House




Lovely weekend in Anbleside - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location in the heart of Ambleside. Accomodation exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with a good choice on offer and freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful therfore looking forward to booking our next trip to Melrose Guest House and will definatly recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Julie Mitchell | Mon 23rd Apr 2018


Great location- Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house with really helpful owners Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Penelope Fox | Sun 22nd Apr 2018


Very good- Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay, will be going back

Reviewer:Amanda Jane | Tue 20th Mar 2018


Perfect location- Rating 4/5

We spent a night in Melrose in order to attend a family celebration in Ambleside. We found it to be clean, tidy and the owners were very attentive but not overpowering. It is in the perfect location and they serve up a great breakfast. It will be our 'go to' place when visiting Ambleside again. This is the owners first season and we sincerely wish them all the best for the future!

Reviewer:Richard Evans | Mon 19th Mar 2018


Return visit - Rating 5/5

This visit proved as welcoming and comfortable as a past visit with the prior owners. Glad to meet Jim and Monique and look forward to possible visits.

Reviewer:MARK Harrison | Tue 13th Mar 2018


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Would recommend staying to anyone. Exceptionally clean fantastic breakfast and hosts were very friendly.

Reviewer:Adam Shepherd | Tue 13th Mar 2018


Stay at the Melrose - Rating 5/5

Our stay at your guest house was outstanding the room was fabulous. We were made welcome from the minute we arrived.lts the best guest house we have ever stayed at. Brilliant!!!

Reviewer:Christine Rogers | Tue 27th Feb 2018


Ambleside B+ B - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a replacement to our previous B+B which had now closed down ..MelRose House certainly fits the Bill in every way ..Excellent in every way...

Reviewer:Derek Mansfield | Mon 19th Feb 2018


Fantastic stay!!! - Rating 5/5

A beautifully presented guesthouse. Fantastic service, the hosts went above and beyond to ensure we had a good stay. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Lindsey Chippendale | Mon 12th Feb 2018


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location with secure parking just down the road. Wonderful, friendly hosts who can’t do enough to help. Delicious breakfast, great choice.

Reviewer:Gill Lear | Mon 29th Jan 2018


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Always a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Vaughan Jones | Fri 19th Jan 2018


Weekend in lakes - Rating 5/5

What a lovely guesthouse we were very impressed hotel and room were spotless and cosy we were made to feel welcome from the start breakfast was awesome will defo stay again

Reviewer:Steven Hall | Mon 15th Jan 2018


Lovely cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Great hospitality from Jim and Monica from checking inn to leaving. Made us very welcomed and included our little boy whos 5 our room was lovely downstairs.my boy said it was his den had everything we neededOnly 1.downsaid the bacon and sausages were slighty over done for our liking but overall good breakfast

Reviewer:Clare Hutton | Mon 15th Jan 2018


New Year Break - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and very helpful and friendly hosts. Nothing was too much for them. The room was clean and decorated tastefully. The attention to detail was perfect. The breakfast was excellent and we liked the idea of ordering the evening before which saved time. The dining room was clean and again tastefully decorated. The best New Year we have had. We will definitely be returning to the Melrose again.

Reviewer:Carole Mappin | Sun 7th Jan 2018


Melrose Guest House - Rating 4/5

This was a clean and friendly guest house, with a extremely polite and friendly people that were running the place. My breakfast was also very good, I would recommend anyone to stop here and your right in the centre.,

Reviewer:Andrew Cartwright | Tue 2nd Jan 2018


Spot on - Rating 5/5

Just back from 2 night stay was excellent very cleanAnd the breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was to muchtrouble for jim. Good parking facilities 2 minutes down the road only £3 per day.Enjoy it that much booked again for may.

Reviewer:Leon Booth | Sat 30th Dec 2017


Fab stay - Rating 5/5

My stay in Ambleside, was throughly enjoyed, more so because of my stay at Melrose, the room was presented lovely also really clean and cosy, breakfast was absolutely yummy and I would have no reservations about staying in this lovely guesthouse again, thank you so much

Reviewer:Ann Purse | Tue 5th Dec 2017


Short stay - Rating 4/5

We had a really enjoyableweekend guest housewas lovelybreakfast was lovely and the cople themselves were really friendly although there is no off streetparking for an extra 3 pound per night they have a limitednumber of parking spaces in a compond onlycouple minutes from theguest house

Reviewer:arthur GREEN | Mon 4th Dec 2017


Lovely stay. - Rating 4/5

A lovely place with a great location.Nice breakfast to set you on your way for the day.

Reviewer:George Rood | Tue 21st Nov 2017


Great- Rating 4/5

Very nice guest house , great central location , very clean and comfortable, owners very welcoming

Reviewer:Paula Conway | Mon 20th Nov 2017


I’ve honestly never stayed in a B&B/guesthouse before.. - Rating 5/5

Firstly I’d like to say that Monique and Jim are lovely professional people.I honestly never stayed in a B&B before, because of the horror stories, strict rules and the thought of eating in someone’s living room just felt wrong.. but after last night, I’d roccomend the Melrose Guesthoise to you all.The room was modern but cosy and it was very very clean.I stay in a LOT of hotels for work, and this place meets most good hotels hands down!!Im unually dissapointed With breakfasts too.. but here it was made to order and it was bloody lovely!The location couldn’t be better too, you’re a minutes walk in to town and all Ambleside has to offer.If you find yourself in Ambleside, give this place a whirl. Great people, great room. great location.

Reviewer:Anthony Brooke | Sat 18th Nov 2017


Clean, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean, owners friendly without being intrusive. Great location with quiet rooms and hot showers.Fab view from room 4 at the top of the house.

Reviewer:Lynn Medley | Tue 7th Nov 2017


Fabulous guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights and the minute you walk through the door you know you are going to have a fabulous stay with the greeting you get, also the place was immaculate and breakfast fantastic definitely be back .

Reviewer:Malcolm Crone | Tue 7th Nov 2017


Very good- Rating 5/5

Very clean and efficiently run.Had a pleasant weekend stay in the family room which worked well for us.Hosts very friendly.Brilliant convient location

Reviewer:Naomi Powell | Mon 6th Nov 2017


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a great time staying in Ambleside in this well situated guest house, we were given a great welcome and our host helped in anyway possible. Lovely place

Reviewer:David Boylan | Sat 4th Nov 2017


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Just got back after spending three nights at this guest house all I can say is it is fabulous the host Jim made you feel very welcome the minute you walked through the door spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fantastic will be going back

Reviewer:Malcolm Crone | Sat 4th Nov 2017


Ambleside weekend- Rating 5/5

A fantastic weekend . Great location . Excellent hosts who couldn't do enough for you . Spotless rooms and a first class breakfast too . Will definitely be visiting again next year .

Reviewer:Joanne Shepherd | Wed 1st Nov 2017


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Rooms spot on, excellent location first class breakfast, perfect hosts

Reviewer:Paul Branch | Wed 1st Nov 2017


Perfect destination- Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay , Jim was a very friendly bloke , room was excellent, service amazing , very close to all of the town eateries, # Lucy on a plate , very quiet and comfortable room , you will be spoiled with quality service ,

Reviewer:Joan Paterson | Thu 26th Oct 2017


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Jim was very helpful on arrival, good room and breakfast, very close to the centre.

Reviewer:sharon gifford | Thu 26th Oct 2017


Would Stay Again - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay . Very welcoming. Clean and friendly. The only gripe i have is perhaps a bit more power in the shower ! Plan to stay here again next year.

Reviewer:JO PEARCE | Wed 25th Oct 2017


Short break- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay at Melrose guest house nothing was any trouble for Jim and the staff , rooms comfortable ,will be back at Melrose next summer ,Thank you Jim &Monika

Reviewer:Ernest Nichols | Mon 23rd Oct 2017


Great Break - Rating 4/5

Excellent service and location. Friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.Parking in the area is not cheap and none was available at Melrose.but we were sensibly advised to buy a 3 day ticket which is valid in multiple town car parks. A minor observation for us would be that the beds were a bit too soft for our taste, but comfortable nonetheless.

Reviewer:Paul Musgrave | Sun 22nd Oct 2017


Excellent- Rating 5/5

This certainly was our best B&B stay in UK ! No exaggeration here . The moment you enter you smell “clean” . Very elegantly decorated . Nothing over powering , simple , neat, nice and practicle.We had small double room which was good for us. The ensuit was small , may be not for big people but very clean . The only thing I would suggest would be replacing the shower head as the water flow was slow. But again not the end of the world.Rooms were clean when we came back after our breakfast !Breaskfast was really good , the dining room is very relaxing and felt very homely . Plenty of good coffee , lots of cereal choices . And cooked breakfast was presented nicely and tasty.We stayed there 3 nights , now moved to another location and missing Melrose and regretting not staying there for the whole week we have planned in Lake District.Will come back again and again .Highly recommended . As you feel welcomed. The owners are the friendliest and gentle people I have met so far in B&B’sNo smoking and no take away policy which is really good as you don’t smell any food items in the house apart from lovely smell in the morning of breakfast being cooked !

Reviewer:Sheema Arshi | Thu 19th Oct 2017


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays